Awards 2021

Every year, BAFTSS recognises excellence in published and practice work by members of the association. Full details of previous winners in all categories are available from the dropdown menu on this page

The 2021 awards are for work published in the period between 1 September 2019 and 31 August 2020, and are decided by members of the BAFTSS executive committee.


The shortlists for each category are as follows (listed alphabetically). The winners will be announced during the BAFTSS conference in April 2021.

There are two categories of awards: the BAFTSS Practice Research Awards and the BAFTSS Publication Awards.



Audiovisual Practice-Research (e.g. original film/TV/video/moving image/screen media practice) 

  • M+M Hawkins (London South Bank University), Husband and Wife

  • Adam Laity (University of the West of England), A Short Film About Ice: Cinematographic Approaches Towards the Eco-sublime Landscape – a Practice-Led Enquiry

  • Roz Mortimer (University for the Creative Arts, PhD candidate at University of Westminster), The Deathless Woman

Innovation Award: (e.g. research applications/infrastructure, film and television studies research-related mobile applications, online databases, websites and archives, new and emerging media)

  • Paola Di Giuseppantonio Di Franco (University of Essex) and Fabrizio Galeazzi, StoryLab (Anglia Ruskin University), Italia Terremotata

  • Beth Johnson (Leeds), Industry Voices

  • Nico Meissner (Griffith University), Paths Untold: Sketches of South-East Asian Filmmaking Careers

Videographic Film Criticism: (e.g. online digital video essays/scholarly remixes/audio-visual film criticism)

  • Cormac Donnelly (Liverpool John Moores), Pan Scan Venkman

  • Ian Garwood (Glasgow), Indy Vinyl: Records in American Independent Cinema - 1987-2018

  • Judith Rifeser (Goldsmiths), A caressing dialogical encounter


Best Monograph:

Best Edited Collection:

Best Doctoral Student Article or Chapter:

Best Journal Article: