New Connections Talks

The BAFTSS Programme for Early Career Researchers

BAFTSS New Connections 2021

 

The ‘New Connections Programme’ is a BAFTSS scheme supporting early career researchers and academics on fixed-term contracts, encouraging them to broker a fresh relationship with an academic institution. BAFTSS provides travel bursaries or book vouchers to enable them to present their research to a new audience.

 

Information about forthcoming research talks in 2021 is given below. We would like to thank our ECR members for applying to take part, colleagues at the various host universities for being so welcoming, and our sponsor Edinburgh University Press.

 

 

Wednesday 17th February 2021, 1pm-2.30pm (online)

Dr Craig Ian Mann – ‘Take Me to Your Leader: Alien Invasion Films in the Reagan Era’  

 

Dr Mann’s online talk was hosted by the University of Hertfordshire’s Media Research Group (School of Creative Arts).

To access the talk, please click on the following link: https://www.herts.ac.uk/research/groups-and-units/media-research-group/research-talks-video-resources

 

Friday 23rd April 2021, 2pm (online)

Dr Hanja Dämon – ‘A Failed Film Project in Austria: Interwar Star Franziska Gaal’s Unmade Post-War Comeback’

 

Dr Dämon’s talk is hosted by Sheffield Hallam University’s Media Studies Department.

For more details, please email Dr James Fenwick (j.fenwick@shu.ac.uk) or Dr Dämon (hanja.daemon@kcl.ac.uk).

 

Wednesday 5th May 2021, 1pm-2.30pm (online)

Dr Kieran Foster – ‘Shadow Cinema: Unmade Films and the Archive’

 

Dr Foster’s talk is hosted by the University of Hertfordshire’s Media Research Group (School of Creative Arts).

For more details, please email Dr Laura Mee (l.mee2@herts.ac.uk) or Dr Foster (kieran-foster@hotmail.com).

 

Thursday 28 October 2021, time tbc

Dr Llewella Chapman – ‘Bond Undressed: Researching Costume in the James Bond Films Through Archives’

 

Dr Chapman’s talk is co-hosted by the ‘Visual Communication’ and ‘Gender and Media’ Research Groups at the University of Leeds (School of Media and Communication).

For more details, please email Dr Melanie Bell (M.J.Bell@leeds.ac.uk) or Dr Chapman (llewella.chapman@gmail.com).

 

 

 

Dates TBC

 

Dr Laurence Kent – ‘Cinematic Sapience and the Rethinking of Rationality in Contemporary Science Fiction’

 

Dr Kent’s talk is part of the Film and Television Research Seminar Series, hosted by the University of Warwick.

For more details, please email Dr Kent (lauriekent22@googlemail.com).

 

Dr Ozge Ozduzen – ‘“Enemy at the Gate and Street”: Anti-refugee Digital Publics in Turkey and the UK’

 

Dr Ozduzen’s talk is part of the Visiting Speaker Seminars hosted by the Centre for International Film Research at the University of Southampton.

For more details, please email Dr Louis Bayman (L.D.Bayman@soton.ac.uk) or Dr Ozduzen (ozge.ozduzen@brunel.ac.uk).

 

 

For general enquiries about the scheme, please get in touch with Eve Benhamou (benhamou.eve@outlook.fr; FTC/affiliated/independents representative) and Gábor Gergely (ggergely@lincoln.ac.uk).

 

BAFTSS New Connections 2019/20

In 2019, BAFTSS launched its inaugural season of ‘New Connections’ Research papers at universities across the UK.

 

Many of the Association’s members are early career researchers who have completed their PhDs and now lack supervisory support, but are not yet in secure, salaried positions within academia. We were pleased that the ‘BAFTSS ECR Mentorship Scheme’ that we launched in Spring 2019 had been able to ‘twin’ people in this detached and precarious situation with experienced academic mentors across the UK.

 

‘New Connections’ emerges from that Scheme. It encourages ECRs to broker a fresh relationship with an Institution and provides travel bursaries to enable them to present their research to a new audience. 

 

Information about the 2019-20 Season of research talks is given below. We would like to thank our ECR mentees for applying to take part and are extremely grateful to colleagues at the various host universities for being so welcoming.

 

Wednesday October 30th 2019, 2 – 5:00pm, Dr Matthew Robinson: ‘An “Emotional Moment”: The Execution of Ruth Ellis in Pierrepoint (2005)

Dr. Robinson’s talk is hosted by the Centre for Film, Media, Discourse and Culture, Faculty of Arts, University of Wolverhampton (Location: Room  MC226, Millennium City Building, City Campus). For further details please contact Dr Benjamin Halligan (B.Halligan@wlv.ac.uk) Director of the Doctoral College, or Dr Fran Pheasant-Kelly, (f.e.pheasant-kelly@wlv.ac.uk), Director Centre for Film, Media, Discourse and Culture.

 

 

Wednesday 13th November 2019, 6 – 7.30pm : Dr Eve Benhamou: “An Expanding Cinematic Universe: Contemporary Disney Animation and Genre in Ralph Breaks the Internet (2018)"

Dr Benhamou’s talk is part of the ‘Film, Media and Global Culture Seminar Series’ at the Centre for Multidisciplinary and Intercultural Inquiry (CMII), University College London (Location: Room 111, Foster Court, Malet Place). For further details please contact Dr Keith B. Wagner (k.wagner@ucl.ac.uk) or Dr Benhamou (e.m.a.benhamou@swansea.ac.uk). 

 

 

Monday 17th February 2020, 5pm: Dr Oliver Kenny: ‘Brits can't do erotica: the impact of nationality on British attitudes towards sexual imagery.’

Dr Kenny’s talk is hosted by the History Research Group,  Bournemouth University (Location: Room W240, Weymouth House). (For further details please contact Dr Austin Fisher afisher@bournemouth.ac.uk), or Dr Oliver Kenny (oliver.kenny@univ-lille.fr) 

 

 

April 2020 (date to be confirmed): Dr Stella Gaynor: 'Horror According to Netflix: A carefully curated exploration of genre.'

Dr Gaynor’s talk is hosted by the Department of Media, Journalism and Film, The University of Huddersfield.

Her paper will explore a selection of horror original series on Netflix, and unlock through industrial analysis the methods, models, and strategies used by Netflix to make and promote a horror series. Using textual analysis of Hemlock Grove, Haunting of Hill House, Black Summer, Kingdom and Chambers, this paper will ask what the model of Netflix means for the development of serialized horror.

For more information, please contact Professor Catherine Johnson (C.Johnson2@hud.ac.uk) at the University of Huddersfield.  

Copyright website made by KITC Solutions