Outstanding Achievement Award

Every year at the annual conference we present an award to a senior figure who has made a significant contribution to the discipline. Awards have been presented to both academics and industry practitioners.


Previous Recipients of BAFTSS's Outstanding Achievement Award

       2020 Mark Cousins (filmmaker and critic): see here for his acceptance message

       2019: Pam Cook (Southampton)

Watch Pam Cook's acceptance video message here:

2018: Tony Garnett (producer)

2018: Ken Loach (filmmaker)

2018: Susan Hayward (Exeter – Emeritus)

2017: Steve Neale (Exeter - Emeritus)

2016: Sue Harper (Portsmouth – Emeritus Professor)

Read Sue Harper's keynote here.

2015: John Akomfrah (filmmaker)

2014: Christine Geraghty (Bedfordshire)

2013: Richard Dyer (Kings College London)

2012: Laura Mulvey (Birkbeck)